Guest Reviews

Werner and Natascha Barnard
South Africa

Jun 28 'Absolutely serenity and peacefulness!!!! just what we needed to clear our minds and rest our souls. you get lost in the beautiful views and the star gazing at night is breath taking. Top Lodge, what a great place to stay. A home away from home. thank you Gavin for your hospitality and please keep maintaining the standard that you currently have. we'll see you again in the near future!!

Jun 28 '14

Riche and Howard Yuter
South Africa

We take regular breaks all over the country and have stayed in beautiful spaces and places, but we've never experienced anything as peaceful, picturesque, remote and quiet as Toplodge. Its the perfect getaway if you're looking to relax and recharge. Nestled high up in the mountains just below the Amphitheatre, the thatched accomodation is fantastic and affordable, and Gavin is a wonderful and unobtrusive host. A hiker's paradise- We can't wait to get back for another stay!

17 October 2013

Ashleigh Smith
South Africa

Wow! what a wonderful holiday. Great place to get get away and relax. Lovely cottages, great hikes and spectacular views of the berg! We will be back!!

24 September 2013

Diane and Andrew
South Africa

This is God's backyard! If you are looking for complete peace and quiet then this is just the spot to head to. Fabulous hikes, the cottage felt like home from the moment we arrived and we woke up to the most incredible views each morning. Couldn't have asked for more! Thank you!!

08 September 2013

Joleen du Plessis, South Africa
South Africa

Excellent service that is not intrusive, but very efficient. The beauty, peace and quiet at this place is something nobody should go without in their life!

24 May 2013

Murray Mackintosh, South Africa
South Africa

Peaceful, quiet, remote and comfortable. Just a perfect getaway from it all and chill location in the Berg. Simply but tastefully furnished... couldn't have wished for more.

07 May 2013

Olga Yahorvava, South Africa
South Africa

If you want to have a rest from work and fuss of a big city - that is a place to go. Want to talk with you family and spend time with them and not be disturbed - that is a place to go. Great views and hikes. And nobody around.

02 May 2013

Alain Thijs, South Africa
South Africa

What a great place, peaceful, beautiful. The accomodation is perfect, clean. All you need is provided. Gavin was very helpful and kind. We will be back. No doubt about that.

23 March 2013

Eugene Vosloo, South Africa
South Africa

If you like TV - No. If you like to watch the slow movie of nature, stunning views and being close to the stars - Yes. If you like to travel tar roads - no. If you don't mind a road that should prefferably be travelled in 4x4 - Yes. If you like comfort and luxury of electricity, clean running water and a great bed - Yes. We would go again, for sure!

06 March 2013

Alan Mason, South Africa
South Africa

To me this accommodation must rate as one of the best self catering venues that I have ever visited. NOTHING can beat this place for relaxation and just doing what you want do. There are good hiking trails and the bird life is absolutely magnificent. Also, a few buck, jackal and baboons are what was available for us to view. The absolute best thing for me was that there was NO TELEVISION! (Please do NOT change this as it will ruin the peace and solitude)! Host and Hostess, Gavin and Joan are extraordinary people. Both are extremely knowledgeable about most aspects of the area. Visitors are warned that if you do not have a 4 x 4 you are advised to request Gavin to come and collect you form the nearby local resort. BELIEVE ME, do not attempt this journey in a SUV - it will not work! Gavin is MORE than happy to come and collect you - WAY TO GO!

04 December 2012

Werner Diedericks, South Africa
South Africa

Well what can I say other than absolutely fabulous! Starting at the access road - nice 4x4 excursion just to get you to understand that you are now out in nature - away from the hustle and the bustle of the city. Gavin please do not change your access route - this is part of the trip and what lies in front of one. The hosts - Gavin and Joan. Great English SA folk that understand the word privacy and service delivery. They were very attentive and willing to assist in any way possible. They also have a great knowledge of the local area as well as the wild life. The accomodation was spectacular and if you truly want more than this; then go and stay in a 5 star hotel and pay the related prices. The unit was sparkling clean and neat with everything needed to be self sufficient. Beautifully set up with great views of the surrounding mountains. I suppose the test of any vacation spot will always be; would you go back there again? In the case of TopLodge- yes in a heartbeat. Thank you Safarinow and Gavin for your assistance and a wonderful weekend.

19 October 2012

Ted Posthumus, Lesotho
Lesotho

Now we clearly understand why the name of this lodge has been called "Toplodge" because everything is "Top"! The houses itself, the hospitality of the owner, the location, the scenery, the view, the compleatness of the equipment and the clearly marked hiking-trails are all fantastic. For sure we will come back. We stayed over in the Toplodge from September 29 till October 03. Giny and Ted Posthumus from Maseru, Lesotho/the Netherlands.

07 October 2012

Susan Overmars, Netherlands
Netherlands

Wow, total relaxation at this wonderful luxury cottage in the middle of the mountains! It takes some effort to get there but it's totally worth it! Beautiful hikes in the area and pure relaxation during your stay. Magnificent views from every angle of the cottage. A must-go on your trip to Drakensberg.

30 December 2011

Stephanie Noverraz, Switzerland
Switzerland

Everything is great at Toplodge. The wonderful view (beautiful sunrise), the very kind and hospitable hosts, Gavin and Joan, the lovely and comfortable cottages (very cozy beds), the walks around the property - even the off-road driving from Alpine Heath was a fantastic preview for our trip to Lesotho! We'll definitely stay there again if we ever go back to South Africa!

05 December 2011

Brad Eyre, South Africa
South Africa

We loved every second we spent at TopLodge. The cottages are spacious and well designed and the inside fireplace was a wonderful treat at night. There are only two cottages at TopLodgewhich ensures your privacy and lets you unwind in peace. The 4x4 drive to get to TopLodgeis an adventure on it's own and adds to the overall appeal of the place. The views and marked routes in the area are amazing. Gavin is the perfect host and is incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We'll definitely be back in winter, to see the snow.

09 November 2011

Sharon Offord, South Africa
South Africa

Our two nights at Toplodge were very relaxing, peaceful and comfortable. It was great to get away from "the madding crowd" and enjoy the beauty of God's creation - even the awe-inspiring thunderstorms! We were only able to enjoy one walk because of the rainy weather, unfortunately.

04 October 2011

Eunece Manson, South Africa
South Africa

We had a very relaxing and quiet weekend and recharged our tired souls! Accommodation was extremely clean and everything was in perfect working order. Loved the double-ply toilet paper and hot shower! Never mind the awesome views and great fireplace! Gavin was extremely friendly and very helpful and we could not ask for a better host! We will be back, Toplodge!

25 July 2011

Karin Kruger, South Africa
South Africa

We loved everything about Toplodge. The beautiful and cosy accommodation, the magnificent surrounds, the fun hiking trails and the hospitality. Toplodge is the perfect weekend getaway.

06 June 2011

Joy Sasman, South Africa
Namibia

TopLodge's unprecedented location and beauty is only rivalled by its owner, Gavin's, intimate knowledge of and consummate passion for the area, which he generously shares. The two units are private and planned with guests' need for peace in mind. The units are well equipped and cater for all needs with electrical appliances like microwaves and a large fireplace that serves as a reminder of the lodge's remoteness. Spending time at TopLodgeis a privilege - and, dare I say - a life altering experience.

04 May 2011

Mathilda Hollingworth, South Africa
South Africa

We had a lovely weekend at Toplodge - the accommodation was spacious, clean and well equipped. We enjoyed the lovely big fireplace inside, the walks and fishing, and especially the swing!

03 May 2011

Sarah Briginshaw, South Africa
South Africa

We had a wonderful stay at TopLodge-perfect for two adults and two kids who want to escape the bustle of the rest of the world!

28 April 2011

Nadja Clifford, South Africa
South Africa

Beautiful and peaceful. Will come again.

13 April 2011

Herman Fuls, South Africa
South Africa

Absolutely stunning place with magnificent views and peace for the soul. Quiet place with great hiking routes.

07 September 2010

Anonymous, South Africa
South Africa

We had a wonderful time full of peace and quiet, with a magnificent view over the mountains.

17 August 2010

Dennis Lane, South Africa
South Africa

Over the past four years I have stayed in 10 different places booked through safarinow. This is, without doubt, the best. The building itself it well designed and comfortable (I'm stealing the idea for a fireplace in a corner rather than in the middle of the wall). Everything worked and was well maintained. The location is stunning. The photos here do not do it justice, and the peace and quiet very welcome. Gavin was supremely helpful and was willing to come and pick us up and drive us down to Alpine Heath so that we could watch the football. The only thing that was missing was snow, so I will be looking to book this wonderful place again next year and hope for some of the white stuff. Seriously, if you are looking for a quiet, romantic, getaway, look no further.

13 August 2010

Anonymous, South Africa
South Africa

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Specifically enjoyed the privacy, quiet, and peace provided by the remote location of Toplodge. The lodge provided magnificent 360 degree views of the mountains and landscape. I will visit Toplodge again!!!

22 June 2010

Greg Bowles, South Africa
South Africa

Gavin made us feel at home straight away. Very romantic and upmarket! Had that fireplace going the whole time. The trip from Alpine Heath up the mountain was fun in itself!!! Highly recommended!

31 May 2010

thinus Labuschagne, South Africa
South Africa

Great place to spend some relaxing time away from the busy, hurried live we experience everyday. Really enjoyed our stay, the cottage was perfect; clean and comfortable and exactly as described on the webpage. Excellent view on the surrounding from the comfort of the cottage. Thank you very much for a relaxing time, will see us again in the near future. Thinus and Rachele.

09 November 2009

Anonymous, South Africa
South Africa

Great destination and a perfect base from which to explore the Northern Berg. We'll be back again if the opportunity arises.

25 August 2009

Carel Visser, South Africa
South Africa

You drive past any sign of life into the beautiful Drakensburg mountain range. Then suddenly a fairy tail cottage appears just after you thought you reached the end of the world. Words to describe our experience would be beautiful silence.

17 August 2009

Val Pilkington, South Africa
South Africa

Gavin is the perfect host always available and willing to meet one's every need. It is a perfect location for anyone seeking beauty and solitude amid the incomparable Drakensberg mountains as an antidote to the strain and stress of city living. The cabins are fully equipped to a high standard and everything is provided to ensure a comfortable and relaxed stay. The remoteness and quietness may not be to everyone's taste but to those who appreciate this atmosphere it is all that can be desired. The various trails lead up to constantly changing views of the valleys and mountains and although rough and steep in places my 9 year old grandchild had no difficulty in traversing them, indeed she was always ready for more. As an Octogenarian I had to follow at a more leasurely pace bur rarely required assistance and easily found places to rest while she and her father explored further. So everyone who is reasonably mobile can enjoy the peace, serenity and beauty which Toplodge provides. Visiting, as we did, in winter the nights are cold but the roaring log fire in the main living area was capable of providing a comfortable and cheery atmosphere when the sun went down and amply bedding kept us warm and cosy during the night. Ample hot water was always available for washing and showering. I will always be prepared to recommend Toplodge to anyone who is looking for a short (or long) break away from the rat race. Unfortunately having been resident in Australia for the past 20 years this was my 1st return to the Drakensberg since leaving SA and a wonderful reminder of the many family holidays spent in the various resorts around here. Sadly this may be my last visit but one to be cherished in the years ahead. To international visitors I would urge you to spend at least a weekend in this unique facility. Many thanks to Gavin and his wife Joan for their warm hospitality.

23 July 2009

Anonymous, South Africa
South Africa

We had at Toplodge, peaceful and tranquil. Also did some walks, and enjoyed the swing!!

18 June 2009

Ronel Alberts, South Africa
South Africa

I cannot recommend TopLodgehighly enough - it's definitely in the Top 5 places we've stayed at around the world! My partner and I requested Gavin to do something romantic for our stay, and the red wine, rose petals and chocolates were absolutely wonderful. The walks on the mountain are INCREDIBLE, and the lady who cleaned our cottage, Lucy, is warm, friendly and very professional. Thanks - you'll see us again!

08 May 2009

Nicole Genovese, South Africa
South Africa

We went to Toplodge for a complete break from the big city and chaos that comes with it - it was fantastic. The location is beautiful, secluded and private and the perfect answer for some downtime and getting down to earth! we felt safe and secure and our young children loved the freedom to explore the beautiful farm. The trails were lovely, accommodation quaint and beautifully built, using lots of natural elements but very comfortable and cosy. We will definitely return soon.

25 April 2009

William Macgregor, Australia
Australia

Ease of booking through Safarinow Great Contact and Info from Gavin clear, helpful concise particularly for international traveler Getting there, no problems definite 4wd last few kilometers or pick up by GavinLodges. Wonderful, self contained private, comfortable, well serviced, beautifully built and set up, views spectacular Walks. From low intensity to as adventurous as you want, well signed and set out, waterfalls Wildlife. We saw,Good birding, Eland, smaller buck, dassie, caracal, baboons. Scat from Porcupines etc. Host. Couldn’t be more helpful and informative if required General. Toplodge is situated in a remarkable place and the attention to your comfort and privacy is paramount. The walks and wildlife are spectacular as you want them to be. In a busy distracting world Toplodge offers spiritual, physical and mental relief. Its one of the few truly private places we visited in SA and well worth a stay of a few days.

13 January 2009

Anonymous, Australia
South Africa

Everything was great, beautiful accommodation & surroundings ... very peacefull, perfect weekend away!!

11 January 2009

Claire Robinson, South Africa
South Africa

The peace and quiet is an absolute blessing . The cottages are a haven of peace and quiet. Definitely a place on our list to revisit soon.

02 January 2009

Steven Fourie, South Africa
South Africa

We enjoyed our stay tremendously, despite the weather. Taking Shrek (the Toplodge 4x4) as means of transportation to and from the lodge is highly recommended, even if you have your own 4x4. We enjoyed the remoteness, peacefulness and tranquility. I am sure it will be even better after some rain. We also appreciated the owner's hospitality which contributed to us being proud South Africans.

09 October 2008

Mark Hudson, South Africa
South Africa

Toplodge was so much more than I expected.

24 July 2008

Anonymous, South Africa
South Africa

Soul Food! Total peace, Tranquility and quietness - if you are looking for a total"get away" you wont find a better spot than this. The most wonderful peaceful and relaxing three day stay - will most definitely be back for another stay.

20 May 2008

liz maas, South Africa
South Africa

Absolutely great. stunning views. Unfortunately could not stay longer. Our guest from the UK really loved it. Nothing is too much trouble for Gavin. Would definitely recommend TopLodge.

07 May 2008

derek badenhorst, South Africa
South Africa

This is the place to go if you want a secluded, relaxed getaway in a natural setting with wonderful views, lovely accommodation (clean, well appointed and equipped) and great walks. Highly recommended. Our young children did not get bored once in 5 days.

19 April 2008

Jennifer Tod, South Africa
South Africa

The surroundings were beautiful and the hospitality was great. It was so quiet.

25 March 2008

Andre Oelofse, South Africa
South Africa

We had a great stay, and the nature is awesome. The walks were excellent and the fishing totally relaxing. Thanks for a great stay. We had real relaxing time no worries.

26 February 2008

Tonya Naude, South Africa
South Africa

Toplodge was just what we needed. It is a great place to go to get away from all the everyday clutter. Gavin was always helpful. The cottage was stunning - the views are amazing. Everything you need is there, and it's very clean and well looked after. The hikes are amazing, and it feels like you are the only person in the berg. We would love to go back soon.

25 February 2008

Raymondt Wasserman, South Africa
South Africa

Great venue for couples and families,came with the kids, aged 4 and 9,they loved it. Returning without the kids in the winter. see ya soon

21 February 2008

Ollie Wright, South Africa
South Africa

Wonderful

29 January 2008

Francois van der Westhuizen, South Africa
South Africa

Nice & quiet & no disturbance from other people. Ideal to have the 2 lodges to ourselves. Nice walks - host very accommodating & helpful. Beautiful view - lodges are very well designed.

01 January 2008

Daniel Nelson, United Kingdom
United Kingdom

Toplodge is a truly wonderful place, Gavin could not have been a more charming host. When we return we will use a 4x4 (we did not have one this visit) so that we could come and go more easily however being 'stranded' is part of the charm of Toplodge. The accommodation is beautiful, everything you could possibly need is provided and to a very high standard.

30 December 2007

Diane Horsten, South Africa
South Africa

We were made to feel most welcome by our host, Gavin. The quiet and serenity of TopLodgewas just what we all needed. We enjoyed the hikes and dam. A totally enjoyable experience which left us feeling refreshed and at peace.

24 December 2007

Kate Ellison, South Africa
South Africa

Absolutely Fantastic Getaway ! A quick drive from Jo'burg and we were at Heavens door. We spent 5 days of sheer bliss and much needed peace and quiet on this magnificent farm in the mountains.The accommodation was way more than we expected, so quaint, cosy and very comfortable - beautifully decorated! The views from TopLodgeare spectacular and we spent hours staring out into the vast valley. Our host Gavin was exceptional and there was nothing he wouldn't do for us to make our stay that much more special. There was loads to do from fishing and swimming in the dam, hiking to the waterfalls, taking long walks through the forests or just sitting in front of the fire with a glass of red wine. We had the most awesome time and would recommend to all young and old to definitely do themselves a favour and take a trip to remember to TopLodge. Regards Pete and Kate Ellison

04 November 2007